Let’s Go To The Beach

Image result for beach tumblr headers

The Easter Holidays are finally here – well, they’ve been here for a whole week now,  but I’ve been trying to just enjoy the time off work and not think about how fast they’re going!

I was really, really looking forward to these holidays because I finally had the chance to go to my favourite place on Earth – Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico! I went for the first time in February 2015 and just fell completely in love with the tiny, hippie surf village. Yes, it’s very touristy, especially now that everyone has holidays (or “vacations”) but it’s easy to see why everyone wants to go there to relax. 

I wish I could say we did lots of exciting things on our trip but the truth is, we didn’t do anything, and it was great! We stayed in an Airbnb (my first experience of using the site, which turned out to be by far the best option) which turned out to be a beautiful hostel/hotel/house, where we had a lovely room to ourselves but were free to use the kitchen (ideal since neither of us have a lot of money to eat out all the time.) Since Sayulita is so small, it only took a minute to walk to the beach or to the central square, where there was always something going on, from music and dancers to fire performers!

20170410_15463720170411_175932

What I love most about the town is the completely carefree atmosphere. There are virtually no cars or buses in the village because there’s no need for them, most of the shops are owned by local people and selling artesanías, and all the cafes and restaurants are mostly outdoors. There’s noise, but it’s not city noise. It would be even better if there was no noise, but I suppose you can’t have everything!

Said noise is exclusively loud music, so whilst it’s great during the day and evening (as most people know, I LOVE dancing) it’s not ideal at 4 in the morning! So, I would recommend anyone visiting Sayulita either: a) take earplugs or b) stay a little way out of the centre. The first time I went, I stayed in the (appropriately named) Amazing Hostel Sayulita. It was still only a couple of minutes walk into the centre but there was no problem with noise during the night.

I would also recommend budget travellers to save up money before going to Sayulita. Whilst it’s a perfect place to relax with a book on the beach, there are also lots of things to do – yoga classes, surfing and other water sports, horse riding and trips to Puerto Vallarta or the Islas Marietas, but as with most tourist hotspots, these things are expensive. In fact, everything is expensive in Sayulita, so make sure you book early to get the best deals on accommodation.

Despite tourism, high prices and noise, I still think Sayulita is one of my favourite places. I would really like to spend longer there to get to know all the ins and outs of the streets, the most authentic local food and the best affordable activities. Even though it’s small, I don’t think you could easily get bored in Sayulita – there is always the sea, gelato and good coffee.  

20170411_175826

Leave a Reply

