Easter Baking

Image result for tumblr baking

Happy Easter everyone! 🐰🐣🥚

I mentioned in an earlier post that I would make a whole post about Easter themed baking ideas. Before I do, I’d just like to point out that I’m having serious difficulty doing Easter baking here in Mexico because Mini Eggs do not exist here. I suppose it’s a good thing that the true significance of the holiday is being maintained and it hasn’t become commercial like it has in other countries, but that doesn’t change the fact that I want some Easter chocolate! No eggs or bunnies anywhere to be seen. Yesterday I made chocolate Easter nests (you know the ones) with peanut M&Ms for eggs but it’s just not the same. 😔

But, I’m sure elsewhere in the world everyone is eagerly cooking up some yummy, prettily decorated Easter treats. Here are some ideas!

White Cloud Cake 

I’m including this recipe purely for the decoration of the cake! My absolute favourite way of decorating cakes is with fresh flowers, fruit and chocolate. You could decorate any type of cake like this (and I will be doing) or by all means follow the recipe for lemon cake on the Sainsbury’s website.

Easter Egg Biscuits

Another recipe I’m posting just for the decoration (there’s no actual recipe included in the link, just instructions for icing these adorable biscuits.) It suggests using ready-to-roll icing (very lazy) but if you’re a tad more professional or adventurous, I’d suggest trying something similar with royal icing. Either way, these simple biscuits look very impressive.

Some simple recipes for making basic, easy to decorate biscuits here and here.

Mini Egg Cookies

Chocolate Cadbury Egg Cookies recipe on TastesBetterFromScratch.com

Mini Egg Easter Nests (Tastes Better From Scratch)

Did I mention that I love Cadbury Mini Eggs? That being the case, these cookies from Tastes Better From Scratch using Mini Eggs instead of chocolate chips look pretty good to me! The recipe also uses melted dark chocolate, so they will be rich and fudgy, like a cookie-brownie hybrid. Plus Mini Eggs. What could be better?

Coconut Macaroon Easter Nests

Coconut Macaroon Nests a classic dessert recipe for celebrating spring and Easter | Inspired by Charm

Coconut Macaroon Easter Nests (Inspired By Charm)

A great, original alternative to chocolate + cereal Easter nests, Inspired By Charm‘s recipe is one of those things I wish I’d thought of! I love anything coconutty and the pastel colours of these little nests are so cute and spring-like. Also, there are so few ingredients and directions, anyone could make this simple recipe.

Lavender Lemon Glaze Biscuits

Lavender Biscuits with Lemon Glaze (Twigg Studios)

I have a confession to make: I do not like lemon flavoured anything. There aren’t many foods I don’t like but citrus is just not my thing! Nevertheless, I love the look of these delicate, floral biscuits (if I were making them for myself I’d use ordinary icing) but I can imagine that the lavender and lemon flavours compliment each other very well. These would be perfect for a tea party or any time you’re feeling ~fancy~.

Lastly, I just want to include a load of icing ideas for cakes and biscuits (mostly biscuits) because I’m a complete sucker for artistic decoration! Everything tastes better if it looks pretty, right?

Image Sources:
http://cookieconnection.juliausher.com/clip/easter-eggs-cookies-2
http://www.sunflowerbaking.com/resources/Lamb_2.html
https://enjoybespokeevents.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/farmyard-party/
http://cookieconnection.juliausher.com/clip/easter-eggs-31
https://pin-upcake.blogspot.mx/2013/03/wielkanocne-lukrowane-ciasteczka.html
http://www.ibakeyoubake.com/#/new-gallery/

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Easter Baking

Leave a Reply

