Happy Mother’s Day!

ALEX-AND-CO-PRINTABLES-FREE-MOTHERS-DAY-PRINTABLE-A-NIGHT-OWL-BLOG - Edited (1)

First of all: Where does the apostrophe actually go in Mothers/Mother’s/Mothers’ Day? Has anyone ever definitively answered this questions? I think it’s technically supposed to go before the S but in my opinion, it makes more sense to put it after – the day is for all mothers, not just my mother (although she definitely deserves a day all of her own.)

On that note, I want to dedicate this post to my mum, who I love and miss a lot. I think mums almost always end up being our best friends once we emerge from the awkward, awful teenage years of disagreeing about everything. That’s certainly the case for my mum. Nobody will ever come close to knowing me as well as she does, helping and supporting me as much as she does, and sharing so many moments with me, the big, important moments and the little everyday things. 

So mum, thank you for always being there for me, and I promise to always be there for you, too. I hope you know how much I appreciate and admire you, and that you never forget how strong, beautiful and loved you are.

Image result for mothers day quotes funnyMums have this unreal ability (and willingness? I’m not sure) to put absolutely everybody, not just their children, before themselves. I think mums must be some kind of superhuman to have this infinite capacity to love. I hope that every mother, biological or not, receives as much love as they give from the people around them, today and every other day of the year.

On a different note, I’m at this weird stage in life where a lot of girls I went to school with or have worked with are becoming mothers. Girls the same age as me are literally growing tiny, new people inside their bodies. Whilst I’m absolutely not ready at all to be that grown up, I think they’re all amazing. I love seeing their updates and adorable baby pictures, and I think they’re all doing a great job at bringing up little humans.

One day I’ll do it, but for now I’ll stick with being my mum’s baby.

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

