Packing 101: Capsule Wardrobes and Kindles

Image result for packing

I think packing a suitcase for most people goes a little something like this:

  1. Open suitcase.
  2. Empty entire wardrobe onto bed.
  3. Go and do something else.

Nobody enjoys packing for a trip of any length – why is it so difficult to fill (not overfill) a suitcase? Why is it that, regardless of how little you actually need, you always end up sitting on the damn thing trying to get it closed? And why is packing so boring/tiring? I don’t know.

But I will say this: you absolutely don’t need to do what I did and bring enough beauty/haircare products to last an entire year. That’s how you end up paying for an extra 5kg of luggage.

I really like the idea of capsule wardrobes, especially when it comes to travelling. Having only a few items of clothing that cover all occasions and all types of weather and that all go together would make life so much easier. But I wonder how often it actually works out like that?

Image result for capsule wardrobe rail

Photo: neat little things

Anyway, for a short holiday, packing is easy: you can predict the weather, it doesn’t matter if you only have two or three outfits and travel-size shampoos are enough. You’ll still forget your plug adaptor and your toothbrush, though.)

A longer trip is more difficult. The first time I lived in Mexico, I took the bear minimum with me – just plain clothes, two or three pairs of shoes and no hair things or make-up. I regretted packing light pretty quickly – I missed my hairdryer. I missed weird things like normal sized paper. I missed LUSH.

This time, I kind of packed to the other extreme. I brought my hairdryer and straighteners (no regrets there), and I brought about 3 litres of shampoo (probably could have lived without.) I brought notebooks and diaries from home for fear that I wouldn’t find ones that I like here (I probably could.) I brought all my make-up, which granted, isn’t that much, but considering I don’t ever wear half the things in my case, I could have cut down there. So, from experience, I think packing is about finding a happy medium.

Washbag products I would absolutely take: LUSH face scrub, Body Shop British Rose Soap, Una Brennan Rose Hydrate Day Cream and Night Cream.

Image result for body shop british rose

Clothes I can’t live without: Stradivarius skinny jeans, The Smiths t-shirt, Fatface cardigan, Jack Wills hoodie, Primark shoe-boots.

Untitled design

The other thing that I am using much, much more than I thought I would is the Amazon Kindle – I bought it because I wanted to be sure I could get English books in Mexico but I didn’t expect to like it as much as I do. I always thought I’d prefer paper books but in actual fact, I read much more on my kindle than I ever did before. It’s so easy to download books and makes reading more portable. I can’t explain why I find it a lot easier to read and stay focused. There’s also no screen glare, so it doesn’t feel like staring at a tablet or computer. Love. It.

So there we have it. I hate packing, but I love travelling – just working on sticking to baggage allowance limits!

 

Leave a Reply

