Springtime Crafting

Image result for spring banner diy

When I was a child I used to make things. All. The. Time. I never really lost my love for making art and crafts (and a huge mess) but as I’m sure many people find, adult life kind of takes over and we have other responsibilities that we have to take care of before we put time into our hobbies. Usually when I finish working I don’t want to do anything except sit at home in my pyjamas, eating and watching Netflix, but guess what? Now I’m a primary school teacher. I have two classrooms full of 7-9 year olds who I’m sure love making things as much as I did when I was their age. And, it’s spring, coming up to Easter, so I’m scouring the internet for ideas of fun, crafty things we can do. I found a few that I think are great for both kids and grown-ups (and people in the weird in-between stage like me.) I hope I’ll get to try some of them in the classroom, and some of the others during the Easter holidays!

Just look how cute these are! Planting herbs is something I’ve been wanting to do for such a long time but have never got round to it, but now I know that if I ever do get round to it, this is how I will mark them. Such a simple idea, but so, so pretty! Planting things is, in itself, a really cool idea for springtime, be it herbs, vegetables or flowers. I love the idea of having a little garden full of bright colours.

Untitled design (2)

Anything with pressed flowers always catches my eye. Another really simple idea that anyone can do, and the possibilities are endless. It’s the easiest thing in the world to make something with paper – a bookmark, a card or just a picture. I also saw some crafters had made beautiful jewellery with pressed flowers, resin and gold wire. When I was little (before I got a fancy flower press), I used to just put flowers between two books for a week or two. Apparently you can also use an iron or even a microwave.

Untitled design (3)

Felt Eggs from The Best Ideas for Kids, Paper Eggs from The Life of Jennifer Dawn

Something I definitely want to do with my classes is make an Easter Egg tree – have them all make an ornament (probably one of the paper or felt ones) and hang them all on some painted branches. It could also be done with actual painted eggs – I love these pinky peachy goldy ones – but I can imagine so many disasters trying to do this with my crazy students!

I will make a whole post on Easter baking, but for now I can’t resist including these (even though they’re not technically a craft.) My favourite is the middle one, with no icing, just a little ribbon and candy-floss tail (it could also be a marshmallow, which would be equally cute.) I think you could make any kind of biscuit into an Easter bunny shape – use your favourite recipe and choose a design!

I hope you like some of these spring crafting ideas – I can’t wait to try them out! Also check out the blogs they came from for more ideas- links under the pictures!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

