Spring Reflections

tumblr_nkxc09AiZ41rqak9yo1_500 - Edited

No winter lasts forever; no spring skips its turn. – Hal Borland

Finally, winter is almost over and spring is just around the corner. Although, I’ve been in Mexico for a month so it feels to me like winter ended a while ago! But, hopefully back home the weather is about to (miraculously) improve and everyone’s spirits will be lifted a little bit.

It’s not my favourite season, but whilst winter is (in my opinion) time to rest, recuperate, be comforted and cosy, the start of spring is the perfect opportunity to start over, clean up everything and, like everything in nature, start to grow again.

To me, spring is about ‘out with the old and in with the new’: I kind of had to whittle down everything when I moved to Mexico, so over here I don’t have a lot of stuff cluttering up my space and I’m learning to like keeping everything on my computer instead of on scraps of paper. But back at home, it’s a different story. I’m sure everyone has a ton of bits and pieces that they are hanging on to for no apparent reason (who doesn’t have a draw full of keys and chargers for who knows what?) And clothes, so many clothes that will never be worn. We live in a time where there is a sense of urgency when it comes to buying new stuff – like if we don’t buy everything we like right this minute, we’ll miss our chance and regret it forever (this has only happened to me once – a pair of trousers I saw in Barcelona that I will never forget… 😢) But there will always be more stuff, it won’t make us feel better, we don’t need it – it just replaces something else we swore we loved and desperately needed.

So, when I say ‘out with the old and in with the new’, I’m not really talking about stuff, although throwing away/donating stuff we don’t need is so satisfying – just look at all that space! I’m thinking more about our habits, ways of thinking and living. In spring, we can refresh everything, finish off projects we started and move on to something else, let go of old grudges, find a new way to express creativity, and spend more time doing things that make us feel good. Preferably outdoors, the time for curling up under a blanket watching Netflix all day is over.

Image result for spring flowers

Mostly, I think spring is a season for hope. Of course we have to work for something better, but it has to start with hope. If a tiny acorn can grow into an oak tree, a tiny spark of hope can grow into something incredible.

But nothing can grow if there’s something in the way – that’s why I think we have to let go of everything that holds us back, everything that doesn’t make us feel good, and resentment towards other people that really only makes us feel bad. We need to forgive everyone, including ourselves, before we can move forward. Not forgiving means living in the past, when what is important is now, the present, and the hope we have for the future.

Most anything can be forgiven, with what is left we’ll have to live. – Conor Oberst

Leave a Reply

