Now Writing from Mexico!

Photo: Visit Mexico

If anybody followed my last blog (Love Travel Revive) you might know I studied for a year in Guadalajara, Mexico. A lot has happened since then – I graduated from University, moved back home, got a job in my hometown, started writing for Pink Pangea and got a puppy. But the most exciting thing that came my way was a job offer from a primary school in Mexico. It was a long wait, a lot of visa stress and doubts about where I would live when I got here (and if it was what I really wanted to do) but finally, five months later, I’m back in the land of tequila and tacos.

My first weeks as an English teacher (with no experience with children or of teaching English) have been surprisingly great. I honestly expected to be tired, stressed and not really enjoying it at all – I’ve heard from other ESL teachers that it takes a long time to get into the swing of things and build relationships with the students. I thought it would take at least six months for me to settle in and feel confident and happy, but the training I have been given, being gradually eased into teaching and the fact that the children seem to actually like me has helped everything to run smoothly. I still have a long way to go, but I’m excited about everything I’m doing.

Image result for mexican food

 Did I mention I love tacos? (Photo: Time Out)

However, I don’t want my blog to turn into a diary, so this is probably going to be one of very few “life updates,” but I hope I will find lots of inspiration for topics to write about. I’ve always enjoyed writing about culture, art, books and food (especially food) as well as fashion and beauty, so I hope you’ll enjoy reading my new posts.

If anyone is considering travelling to Mexico, teaching English as a foreign language, studying abroad or learning to speak another language, I can’t recommend it enough. It really does change your life. It might not be something I (or you) will do forever, but the experience is so valuable – you learn so much about yourself, a totally different way of life and how to live alongside other people. At the moment it seems like we’re all supposed to be scared of people who are not the same as us (raise your hand if you associate Mexicans with crime/drugs/cartels/kidnappings/Donald Trump/the Wall) but when you see their home, see how they live, speak their language and actually get to know them, you realise that most of that stuff isn’t true. You just realise that we’re all human.

Image result for donald trump wall comic

I’ll get off my soapbox now and sign off, but I hope to be updating more regularly writing about lots of new things.

Lots of love!

One thought on “Now Writing from Mexico!

Leave a Reply

