Favourite LUSH Facial Cleansers

flat1000x1000075f-edited

Anyone who knows me even a little bit knows that I LOVE Lush. I don’t have many beauty products that I buy regularly – I experiment a lot to find things that really work for me, but some of Lush’s facial cleansers are, or have been, totally indispensable. I’ve also tried a few which I’ve liked but not repurchased, mostly because they were outshined by a different cleanser, but I’ve decided to review them anyway – I would honestly recommend everything I’ve ever tried from Lush.

3975Angels on Bare Skin

Rating: 😍😍😍😍

Best For: Sensitive Skin

This is the first cleanser that I tried from Lush. I think I was mostly attracted to the name, but after reading some reviews I decided to try it out, liking the idea of natural ingredients that would care for my skin. I ended up using it every day for quite a while, and I still love to use it from time to time when my skin needs something gentle and calming. Angels on Bare Skin is a little bit exfoliating, which is great, but the real benefit is the balancing, calming and restoring. I’m also crazy about rose oils at the moment, which Angels On Bare Skin contains, along with lavender. Surprisingly, it doesn’t smell great, but that doesn’t take away from all the good it does for your skin.


ltgr-secondaryLet The Good Times Roll

Rating: 😍😍😍😍😍

Best For: Dry Skin

I’ve reviewed Let The Good Times Roll once before in my Winter Beauty Essentials post, but to be honest I just can’t rave about it enough. My mum bought me this as a present on the recommendation of a Lush employee and she got it spot on – it’s more scrubby than Angels on Bare Skin but the balance of exfoliation and moisturising is just perfect. My skin is quite dry and a bit flaky so it’s amazing to find something that gets rid of dead skin without leaving it even drier. I use this cleanser every day and I think I’ll be using it for the foreseeable future. The only teeny criticism I have is that I don’t like the popcorn decoration – I don’t think it adds anything and it gets in the way a bit!

dark-angels-secondaryDark Angels

Rating: 😍😍😍

Best For: Oily Skin

There’s a big craze about charcoal skincare products at the moment – activated charcoal as an ingredient is supposed to draw out impurities and give a really deep clean, helping to prevent oiliness and breakouts. I can’t really say if it works because I don’t have oily skin but Dark Angels definitely made my skin feel really clean and polished. I’d put it down to the exfoliation of this cleanser, which is quite intense, but maybe the purifying properties of charcoal helped, too. The main problem I had with Dark Angels is the colour and subsequently the messiness – this stuff is pitch black and it gets everywhere.

ultrablandUltrabland

Rating: 😍😍

Best For: All Skin Types

This cleanser is great for taking off make-up, but…the texture is so oily, it feels like smearing butter on your face. Nevertheless, it would be good for all skin types – it’s very gentle, not exfoliating and a bit of oil is good for moisturising and balancing, even if you already have oily skin. Compared to other Lush cleansers, this one is easy to use and not as messy, but personally, I prefer products that wash off easily with water and don’t need to be wiped off with a cloth. But, I did like how soft and moisturised my skin felt after using Ultrabland.

web_ocean_salt_sp_lidOcean Salt

Rating: 😍😍😍😍😍

Best For: All Skin Types

I don’t know how Ocean Salt works, but it somehow does everything you would want a cleanser to do (except for taking off eye make-up – you don’t want to put this near your eyes…) Like Let The Good Times Roll, it’s scrubby so it gets rid of flaky skin, but it has moisturising ingredients too (hello, avocado and coconut oil) so it leaves your skin incredibly soft and smooth. I also love the smell – really uplifting and citrusy, so it’s perfect to use to wake yourself up in the morning. This is the cleanser that I would be most likely to use on my body, too. If only it came in a bigger pot.

2752Bonus: BB Seaweed Mask

Rating: 😍😍😍

Best For: All Skin Types

Lush has a system where if you return five clean, empty pots or tubes to them, they give you a free Fresh Mask of your choice! I’ve been hoarding black pots for about a year, so I decided to try out BB Seaweed, hoping for a bit of extra nourishment. I picked this one for the aloe vera and rose absolute but was pleased with the other ingredients too – ground almonds, kaolin clay and seaweed. The mask smells nice and feels soothing, it’s good to use whilst relaxing in the bath and my skin definitely felt very clean and fresh after using it. I think this mask is for quite general use – nothing overwhelmingly brilliant about it, but a nice addition to your skincare routine for a bit of extra cleansing, and a little way to treat yourself.

All photos from LUSH UK

 

Leave a Reply

