Review: Panic! At the Disco, 17/11/16

untitled-design-edited

People who know me know that I never really grew out of my 2006 emo phase. Yep, it’s 2016, I’m 23 and my favourite bands haven’t really changed in 10 years. My biggest regret in life is having not seen My Chemical Romance in concert, which is why about 2 weeks ago I threw caution to the wind and spent about half of my month’s wages on tickets to see Panic! At the Disco in Manchester.

It was probably a poor decision, I’m supposed to be saving as much as I can and when the day came, I was too ill with a cold to sensibly leave the house, but unable to live with a lifetime of regret, I decided that if I could get out of bed, I was going to that gig.

Best. Decision. Ever.

It’s been a very, very long time since I’ve reverted to 13-year-old-me and almost passed out from excitement, but apparently all it takes is Brendon Urie doing a backflip. Who knew? It’s also worth noting that I have the worst singing voice in the world, so I apologise to everyone around me for belting out every word at the top of my lungs.

Panic! kicked off their set with one of the singles off their new album. Don’t Threaten Me With a Good Time clued us all in to the fact that we were going to have a very good time. Continuing this theme, the set also included Time to Dance and Hallelujah, which had me thanking God that this band exists.

HALLELUJAH 👐❤ #panicatthedisco

A post shared by ⭐ Maz ⭐ (@maryswildyears) on

If the backflip wasn’t enough to prove that Brendon is a complete show-off (in the best possible way), during Crazy = Genius, an entire drumkit was wheeled onto the stage so he could battle out with drummer Dan Pawlovich, breaking all our hearts in the process. For reference, not only does he sing like an angel, he also plays every instrument under the sun (seriously.)

A highlight of the show was the unexpected cover of Bohemian Rhapsody, which, of course, was almost as good as the original. I have to admit, I was a tiny bit disappointed when the cover didn’t turn out to be Carry On My Wayward Son, which has been performed by Panic! in the past. But, all was forgiven when Brendon announced his tribute to Frank Sinatra, the title track of the album, Death of a Bachelor. (At this point in the gig, I turned to my best friend and screamed at her that I want this song performed at my wedding.)

Finally, the encore. Panic! couldn’t not play the song that made them famous, I Write Sins Not Tragedies. Personally, it’s not my favourite song, but it certainly was when it was released in 2005. It was followed by This is Gospel, one of the few songs played from 2003’s (seriously underrated) album, Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! Finally, the night went out with a bang, lots of gold and silver confetti, and Victorious.

So, to sum up, this concert was everything I hoped it would be. Panic! At The Disco are a rare band that manage to do something completely different with every album – from emo rock to folk, electronic to pop to orchestral, and everything is equally good. Well, perhaps not quite – Death of a Bachelor could be their best album yet.

Leave a Reply

