Winter Beauty Essentials

Winter is my favourite time of year for serious pampering. In my opinion, our bodies, minds and souls all need a bit of extra TLC when it’s cold and dark outside, and rainy days are the perfect excuse to stay in and treat ourselves. So, here are some of my favourite things to beautify your skin and hair and leave you feeling comforted and polished, ready to take on the cold winter weather. Everything I have featured here comes from companies which do not test on animals.

The Body Shop Body Butter

20161002_160330-1

These super thick, moisturising body creams are a classic and for good reason. I have tried out a lot of body butters and nothing comes close to the Body Shop original. The Shea scent is my favourite, it’s neutral and subtle so it’s perfect to wear under perfume, but there are loads of others to choose from, from fresh and floral to vibrant and fruity. These Body Butters are ideal to use all over your body and leave your skin feeling deeply hydrated, nourished and soft, but I especially recommend using it generously on your feet before bed to pamper those piggies.

Lush Let The Good Times Roll

This facial cleanser is nothing short of a miracle. It’s scrubby and exfoliating, with polenta and maize flour, and brightens and stimulates the skin with cinnamon. I personally use Let The Good Times Roll all year round, but it’s particularly essential when my skin is suffering the effects of cold winds and drying central heating. After a good scrub with Lush’s finest, my face feels smooth, balanced and comforted. Plus, it smells divine and as an added bonus, Lush will reward you with a free face mask when you return 5 empty pots to them.

Crabtree & Evelyn Hand Therapy

Once again, I have used many hand creams over the years and Crabtree & Evelyn Hand Therapy is my favourite. The only problem is trying to choose a fragrance, there is a huge selection and they are all lovely, but I think my favourites are Evelyn Rose and Caribbean Island Wild Flowers. Hand Therapy is made with my favourite ingredient, shea butter, and leaves your hands refreshed and silky soft. Ask in store for a free hand treatment, which uses a Hand Recovery scrub followed by a Hand Therapy cream – this combination is the best way I have found to get gorgeous hands!

The Body Shop Spa of the World Scrub 

Choose between Mediterranean Sea Salt and African Ximenia scrubs to slough off any dead skin. The Sea Salt scrub has a much coarser texture which I love for a more occasional intense scrubbing session, whilst the African Ximenia is finer for a more polishing effect, perfect for everyday use or a bit of extra buffing. As with all Body Shop products, the ingredients are fair trade, ethically and naturally sourced, so by treating yourself to these, you’re also doing a bit of good for the planet and for world communities.

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Lip Balm

Palmer’s is better known for it’s cocoa butter body lotions than anything else, but I picked up this lip balm a while ago and I’m so glad I did. It’s the only thing I’ve found that is as moisturising as Vaseline (which uses animal testing.) It’s common knowledge that cocoa butter is great for your skin; Palmer’s also supports sustainable farming of their ingredients. The formula of this balm is great for preventing and healing chapped lips, so it’s great for cold and windy weather. Plus it smells like chocolate.

Wow, this feels like a really long post, and I could go on. The product I am still looking for is a hydrating hair mask, so if anyone has any recommendations, please leave them in the comments!

One thought on “Winter Beauty Essentials

Leave a Reply

